Staff & Leaders

As a member of the Presbyterian Church in America (PCA), Hope is “elder-led.” This means that our elders actively shepherd our congregation and provide vision, under the guidance and authority of our Presbytery (a group of many PCA churches in the Tidewater area). Our deacons are responsible for carrying out the practical ministry of the church (including things like facilities management, budgeting, and mercy ministries). Our staff is responsible for implementing the vision of the elders on a day-to-day basis.

  • Blake Wingfield


    Blake is married to Hannah and they have four children – Leland, Clara, Holden, and Shiloh. Blake grew up outside of Lynchburg, Virginia, and he attended James Madison University where he studied geographic and geological science. Blake earned his M.Div. from Westminster Seminary California in May, 2016. He has worked on staff as a pastor of Hope Presbyterian Church since February, 2017.

  • Cindy Joines

    Director of Music

    Cindy is married to Joe, whom God brought into her life when she was 3 and he was 5. They grew up together in Phoebus and have made Smithfield their home for the past 20 years. After a 30-year federal service career spanning Europe and the US, Cindy served as the pianist for Hope and eventually became the Director of Music. She first began serving in music ministry as the church pianist at age 12 and continues to be the privilege of her life to serve God and His people in this capacity.

  • Kathleen Kirkham

    Director of Children's Ministry

    Kathleen is married to Matt, and together they have 3 children. Having grown up in the PCA, Kathleen has experienced firsthand the impact that a strong children’s ministry can have on the development of young peoples’ faith and love for Jesus. Her prayer is that the children of Hope grow to love Christ, serve the church, and build the kingdom of God as they glorify Him throughout their lives. 


Dale Baugh | Rick Bise | Chris Howell | Matt Kirkham | Steve Runals


James Barrett | Pete Eaves | Gil Van Hill | Randy Jackson |
Allen Mitchell | Bill Yoakum